The Dark Holocron

In Umbris Potestas Est

A Brief History

(Holocron of Darth Draconis)


Over the years I practiced the Sith Ways alone, with few to lean on. Somewhere along, in the earliest days, I started using the internet in search of inspiration, for anything I could find out about the Sith of our lore. For quite a while that’s all I found. Role playing sites with a wealth of fresh perspectives on the Sith philosophy for me to think about and field test to the best of my abilities as a young teen. And eventually I stumbled across the older main page of the FA, a web page that featured a few of the lectures of Darth Moor. At first of course I had thought it was just another source – thanks to his penchant for injecting the mythos so directly into some of the writings he aimed at Star Wars enthusiasts – but then I kept reading, and I discovered for the first time that I wasn’t the only Sith, or even the first.

After that I found more. Home of the True Sith, the Jedi Order of Ashla Knights, and a number of other communities. Most of them will have been long gone by now, but I joined pretty much all of them in an obsessive effort to expand the scope of the knowledge and understanding I had of my own way of life. I’d tell you how old I was, but for whatever reason my age at the time isn’t something I recall (and is fairly unimportant in any case).

The Order of the Sith was established by yours truly in 2006, October 6th, where I claimed the title Dark Lord of the Sith. Admittedly, in this particular case it was less a mark of progression, and more a tool to be used to fulfill the vision I had; and initially I was not the only one to sport it. I set things up so that there were other Dark Lord’s and Lady’s helping to give the Order form, to give it shape. It was a structure I changed drastically before very long (along with the accommodations to all other paths that I wished to acknowledge or further, almost in imitation of the Force Academy’s system, both of which were abolished for the purpose of re-orienting the Order towards focusing solely on the ways of the Sith). Abandoned though it was for a different approach I feel it deserves to be mentioned, if only to be looked back on as one of many stepping stones toward what the Order grew to become.

Shortly before the reformations that those changes were a part of, I had begun an apprenticeship under Darth Atlas (though truth be told we were in many ways partners and peers) and was invited to a site of his own, called the Sith Empire. (Given the scarcity of Sith resources, communities, and practitioners around the time, I would argue it wasn’t nearly as pretentious to call it that as it may seem now, in retrospect.) During my time as a member there I continued with the apprenticeship and helped to run and expand his site, in addition to the Order.

It was around that time that I entered into a training arrangement with two apprentices in accordance with an experimental ‘rule of three’. The idea being that it would set up the dynamics for competition between the two students. There were two or three different spins on it, mine and Atlas’s being more or less the same, so it was with that variation that both of us tried it out. He decided to teach somebody I can’t seem to remember (suffice it to say, he wasn’t nearly as useful an asset as I was, nor as interested in advancing his agenda or that of the Sith – one and the same for me at the time), while I worked with Aly Priceless and Ophidious – not the first I worked with, but likely the first two that are worth remembering. At some point, the Empire and most of its members – many of which were also members of the Order – became involved in what some eventually deemed the Adeptus War, which was quite the cliche conflict in having been between Jedi and Sith.

For three years I held my position as would-be Dark Lord, and for three years the Order of the Sith evolved. I think it’s only fair attribute a lot of it’s growth and progression – as a tool for Sith to interact and learn throughout that time – to many other practitioners I had the pleasure (and occasionally the displeasure) of working with, people that invested their time, their intellect, and their passion into it. But on December 22nd, 2009 I officially stepped down, having come to the decision a few days before the announcement. I left the responsibilities of leadership in the hands of two Sith Lords, Miles and Khaos, and from there I sought to remake myself yet again.

I succeeded, forging myself in the flames of my passion, focusing that passion towards my intent to evolve and expand through the dark training program of the FA’s Sixth Dynasty. The only one to truly undergo the training offered from start to finish and to invest myself in other facets of the Dark Aspects management, it wasn’t long before I was recognized as a Dark Knight there; that was announced August 9th, 2010. Just over a year later, I became the seventh head of the Dark aspect and elicited a special kind of paint to decorate my “face” with as acting leader, a paint made of excuses, shortcomings, and problems within the DA. It served first to bring many of the issues into focus, then effectively brought them to a head as I made myself the focal point, the face of them, the scapegoat.

My background may or may not seem relevant to you. My own take on whether it matters? While I think a persons past has some relevance to who he or she becomes, I do not place much value in it. It’s simply a collection of sterile lessons to the onlooker and to the one it pertains to (me, in this case), the memories are only more visceral because they’re mine, and to much time dwelling on them seems a good way not to create any more. I think that you should learn from the previous events, experiences, emotions… but to become fixated on the past is stupid and pointless. Learning is all well and fine, but incessant reflection will ultimately get you nowhere.

~Darth Draconis


(Return to Content Navigation)

 

Leave a comment